Hello Dollies

IMG_6589

You will thank me for these.

My grandma used to make these for me as a kid and they were my favorite. I was never much of a nut person and I still really am not actually so I always make mine without pecans, but I will include the original recipe for you guys. You know, because I kind of like you and I’m not trying to push my anti-nut agenda on you. To each their own. But nuts or no nuts, these are delicious.

IMG_6587

Ingredients:

-3 cups crushed graham crackers (I buy the box of premade crumbs. Because I’m lazy)

-1/4 cup sugar

-1 1/2 sticks of butter, melted

-1 cup of chocolate chips

-1 cup chopped pecans

-1 can, 14 ounces, sweetened condensed milk

-1 1/2 cups shredded coconut

Recipe:

-Mix the crushed graham crackers, sugar, and melted butter together in a bowl. Transfer the mixture to a baking dish. I used a cookie sheet with a lip on it but have also used a 9×13 pan and also a 9×9 pan. Depending on how thick you like your crust dictates what size pan you should use.

-Spread the mixture evenly and then I use the back of a measuring cup to press the crust down and compact it. Put it in a 375 degree oven for 10 minutes, rotating halfway through. After you take it out, let it cool for 20 minutes.

-Now is when you will spread the pecans and chocolate chips on the cooled crust. I used a little more than 1 cup of chocolate chips since I didn’t use pecans. Also, because I love chocolate. Just eye ball it. If it doesn’t look like enough chocolate/pecans to make a girl happy, add more until you are 😉 You could also go a little rogue and add in additional toppings. White chocolate chips, pretzels, whatever you fancy.

-Pour the condensed milk over the top, avoiding the edges. Top with coconut. I again used more (about 2 cups total) because I felt like my pan was big and I wanted more coverage.

-Put it back in the oven for 10-15 minutes until the coconut is nice and toasty on top. Move to a cooling rack and after cooled, you can cut into bars or leave it in the pan and cut them as needed.

While you SHOULD wait until they are cooled to cut because it makes your life so much easier, I would recommend maybe sneaking a sample piece. You know, quality control. Also, because it is delicious hot and melty.

Enjoy!

IMG_6587

 

Leave a Reply

