Lemon Pancakes with Strawberry Syrup

IMG_6556

Guys. It has been so long! And for that, I am so sorry. I got a new job and as these happen, they often lead to being tired. Like,  a tired I have never experienced before. Crazy. Its been 9 months since I started there and I’m still about the same amount of tired every day, but I digress. I have still been cooking and have a ton of recipes and pictures on my computer just waiting to be posted and I’m working on it. These bad boys I made yesterday for breakfast and they were just too delicious to sit all alone on my hard drive not being shared with all of you.

Let me start out by saying these may have been some of the best pancakes I have ever put in my mouth and I have had a lot of pancakes in my mouth (more of those recipes later). The lemon is subtle but fresh and the strawberry syrup is so easy and delicious and worth the extra effort. The husband said he thought these were better than the blueberry ones I made last weekend and since blueberries are his fav, that was high praise. so basically, you just have to try these. You won’t be sorry.

IMG_6552

Ingredients:

Lemon Pancakes:

-1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

-2 teaspoon baking powder

-1 pinch of salt

-1/4 cup granulated sugar

-3 eggs

-1 1/2 cups milk

-3 tablespoons melted butter, cooled

-zest and juice of one med/large lemon

-1/2 teaspoon vanilla

-cut strawberries and powered sugar. Both optional, but if I were you, I would go for it

Strawberry Syrup

-3 cups of strawberries, chopped. I used frozen because I didn’t have enough fresh ones thanks to a tiny human that lives in my house, but fresh works perfect too.

-1 cup sugar

-2 tablespoons lemon juice

-3 tablespoons water

IMG_6553.JPG

Lets start making pancakes!

-Start off by whisking the eggs and vanilla to combine. Stir in milk, lemon zest and juice, and cooled butter, set aside.

-In a different bowl, mix flour, baking powder, salt and sugar until  combined. Make a hole in the center of the dry ingredients and add the wet ingredients, gently stiring until just combined. It will be a little lumpy and that is ok, you don’t want to over mix.

-Heat a large skillet and add butter. I never measure, just cut off a little chunk and throw it in. Ladle out batter. I use a 1/4 cup measuring cup because that size is easy for me to flip and not screw up but if you are a pancake flipping pro, feel free to make whatever size pancakes tickle your fancy. Cook until the edges bubble and then flip and finish cooking.

-Serve hot with the syrup, powdered sugar, and fresh strawberries. Or you know, however you want to eat them. I’m not here to tell you how to live your life, but you should eat them as suggested 😉

 

Making the syrup!

-Combine all ingredients into a saucepan over medium-low heat. Cook, stirring often, until strawberries are soft. Mash the strawberries (I used a potato masher. Actually, my daughter did because she wanted to help. See? So easy a 4 year old can make this syrup!

-Cook for a few more minutes on low. If it isn’t sweet enough for you, now is the time to add a little more sugar but the original amount was perfect for me. Syrup will thicken as it sits. Pour this deliciousness over warm pancakes.

**This made enough syrup for me to have leftovers so I just put it in a glass jar in the fridge. It would be yummy on ice cream, frozen waffles your kids insist on eating against your better judgement, real waffles. Or you know, basically anything.

Enjoy!

IMG_6558

Leave a Reply

