Watermelon Lemonade

You guys will have to forgive my lack of pictures on this post and just trust that its delicious. Because it is.

My kids talked me into a watermelon while we were at Costco today and even though I resisted on the first go round, they had like bins of watermelons everywhere. Power of suggestion, Costco for the win. Anyway, I know we never eat all the watermelon so this was a good way to use up what I know would have gone wasted. I still haven’t found my blender so I did juice the watermelon by hand, but it wasn’t that hard. Its been so hot here lately and this really hit the spot. And I may or may not have added just a smidge of vodka after the kids went to bed. Maybe.

Ingredients:

-4 cups watermelon juice, from roughly 6 cups of cubed watermelon

-3/4 cups lemon juice

-2/3 cup sugar

-4 cups cold water

Instructions:

-If you have a blender, throw the watermelon in the blender and puree. Pour the juice into a fine strainer to keep out any chunks or seeds, set aside and squeeze your lemons.

-In a large pitcher, whisk together water, lemon juice, and sugar until all the sugar has dissolved. Pour in watermelon juice and give it a good stir. Throw in the fridge to chill. You will probably notice your lemonade and watermelon juice separate in the fridge, but no big deal, just give it a stir before you pour over ice.

Enjoy!

2016-06-11 08-15-04.jpg

Leave a Reply

