Mmmm…Mac and Cheese

2016-06-12 07-56

Guys. I can’t even with this mac and cheese. It was sooooo good! And I promise it was easy.

My kids really wanted mac and cheese with dinner tonight but I didn’t pick up any at the store so since it was hot and I didn’t want to be outside with them any longer, I hatched a plan to get back to the air conditioning and alas, this mac and cheese was born.

Let me start out by saying every recipe I have tried for homemade mac and cheese has ended horribly. Like so bad even my husband couldn’t suck it up and eat it. That bad. But I bit the bullet and tried this one and it was magic. My kids loved it and so did I. As my son was getting ready for bed he came and gave me a hug and said “thanks for the mac and cheese mom, it was really good!”

So, there you have it. You need to make this so your kids will love you more 😉

2016-06-12 07-57-04

Ingredients:

-16 oz cavatappi or elbow pasta

-1/4 cup butter

-1/4 cup flour

-1/2 teaspoon salt

-1/2 teaspoon pepper

-1 cup milk

-1 1/4 cups heavy cream

-1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese

-1 cup shredded -mozzarella cheese

Instructions:

-Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain and set aside

-In a medium pot, melt butter and then add the salt, pepper, and flour and whisk it all together

-Slowly add the milk and heavy cream, mixing until well combined. I add all of the heay cream first and then added the milk.

-Heat the sauce until it bubbles over medium high heat

-Switch the heat over to low and add in the cheeses and stir to combine. I would recommend ditching the whisk and using a wooden spoon or similar to mix it.

-Add the cheese sauce to the pasta and give it a good stir to make sure the creamy, cheesy, goodness gets all the noodles and let it sit  few minutes to thicken.

That’s it! See? So easy.

Enjoy!

2016-06-12 07-57-01

 

Leave a Reply

