Banana Bread Trio

1

I’m sure the first thing you will notice is that the title says trio and you are only looking at 2 loaves of bread. Your eyes do not deceive you. Its an interesting story actually so gather round and I’ll tell you.

Last night I forgot it was almost Friday. Friday I always send baked goods with the husband to work because you know, I like to look put together. Ha. So I make this delicious blueberry banana bread but by the time I got around to finishing it, it was too dark for pictures, no big deal. Then I start to slice it up for easier transport and realize there is a spot in the upper middle part of the loaf that isn’t completely done. Oh no. But being as I couldn’t really put it back in the oven and banana bread was already promised with picture evidence I did what anyone would do. I cut around the small part that wasn’t all the way cooked, cut it up in cute little pieces and sent it on its way. See? I told you I was just faking the whole Suzy homemaker thing. But you know what? They all loved it and weren’t any wiser so it was a win for everybody.

I got up this morning and decided to make more bread because my son asked for some last night without blueberries. Why that kid likes everything plain, I will never know, but he asked so I obliged. I also thought while testing out last nights recipe that this bread would be amazing with strawberry jam mixed in. And guess what? I was correct. This strawberry bread is the things dreams are made of and I’m going to tell you how to make it right now.

IMG_5003

Just in case you thought I was a professional. Proof I’m barely keeping it together.

Ingredients:

{for the banana bread base}

-1 3/4 cups all purpose flour

-1 tsp baking powder

-1/8 tsp baking soda

-1/4 tsp salt

-1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temp

-1 cup sugar

-2 large eggs

-1/4 cup buttermilk

-1/2 tsp vanilla extract (or you know, I little more if you love vanilla like me)

-3 ripe bananas, mashed

*If you are making plain banana bread, this is all you will need

**If you are making blueberry banana bread, you will need a cup of blueberries plus a few more for the top

***If you are making it with strawberries, you will need

-1 lb strawberries

-3 tablespoons sugar

-1 1/2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

IMG_4996

Instructions:

-Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

-If you are making strawberry bread, start with chopping up the strawberries and tossing them in a pot with the sugar and balsamic vinegar. I know the vinegar sounds weird and smells bad, but bare with me, its so delicious. Bring the strawberries to a boil and reduce heat and simmer until it is a jam like thickness, about 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Do not panic if it takes a little longer than that! It happens, its ok, I promise. After its nice and thick, let it cook while you prep the batter.

-Mix flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda together in a bowl, set aside.

-Cream together butter and sugar until well combined. Forget to put your butter out? Fill a glass with HOT water until the cup absorbs the heat, dump out the water, and place it over the butter. The heat from the cup will soften without melting it. Then beat in eggs, buttermilk, and vanilla until well combined. Forget buttermilk? No problem! Fill a measuring cup with 1 tablespoon of lemon juice. Pour milk in the cup until it reaches 1 cup. Let it hang out for 5 minutes or so and boom, buttermilk! I use this little trick almost every time I need buttermilk.Why I always have lemons and not buttermilk is beyond me, but I do so its a happy surprise.

-Gradually add flour mixture until just combined. If you are making plain banana bread, this is the time to put it in a greased loaf pan and pop it in the oven! If you are making blueberry bread, mix in 1 cup of blueberries and pour into a greased loaf pan. Add some more berries on top and put it in the oven. Finally, if making strawberry, add half a cup of the jam into the batter and mix until combined. Pour into the loaf pan and top with more jam. Use a toothpick to swirl it into the batter. I split this recipe between 2 smaller loaf pans and only used 1 pan for strawberry and so I only used 1/4 cup of jam inside and 1/4 on top when I made this. Pop it into the oven and you are good to go!

-Baking time varies on what size pan you use. I used a regular, large loaf pan for the blueberry and it baked from 50-60 minutes. The smaller ones baked from about 45-55 minutes. It is done when a tooth pick is inserted and comes out clean.

This is a great base recipe, if you add something other than what I have, let me know!

Enjoy!-edited to add, a blueberry loaf is now posted! I made it this morning and took a quick picture for you guys

2016-06-12 01-29-01.jpg

IMG_5020

Leave a Reply

