No Churn Blackberry Ice Cream

IMG_4940

I almost feel bad taking credit for all the compliments I got on this ice cream because it was so incredibly simple. Almost.

I’m not usually a blackberry kinda gal, but we were on vacation last month and the husband and I decided that we wouldn’t order our usuals, we would go outside the box. All week. And you know what? It was fantastic and I’m mad at myself we didn’t make that rule sooner. That little promise is how I came across this ice cream. We were in Snohomish, WA and shopping at all the cute little shops and it was SO HOT. Like, not at all what I was expecting so I was not dressed for the occasion so it was even hotter. That hot. Anyway, there was an ice cream shop and we had to stop in. While glancing over all the typical flavors, I saw this purple beauty and never looked back.

IMG_3068

I adored our time in Washington and any chance I have to relive our memories there, I jump on it. So, without further ado, I present to you the most delicious and easiest ice cream you will ever make.

IMG_4921

Ingredients:

-14 oz can of sweetened condensed milk

-2 tsp vanilla extract

-2 pints blackberries

-1 tsp water

-2 1/2 cups heavy cream

Instructions:

Take the sweetened condensed milk and mix it well with 2 tsp of vanilla extract and set it aside. Rinse your blackberries and put them in a bowl to smash them up. I used an old school potato masher, mostly because I have no clue where my blender is, and it worked just fine but feel free to use a blender or food processor if you haven’t lost yours. I suggest adding about 1 tsp of water to make mashing go a little easier.

After your berries are smashed, add it to you vanilla/milk mixture and stir until combined. If you want, you could add some chocolate chips here if that’s your thing, which I think would be a happy addition personally, but I wanted to stick with nostalgia. I would recommend about half a cup.

Take 2 1/2 cups of heavy cream and whip it until you have stiff peaks. I used my stand mixer, but you can use a hand held mixer or even a whisk if you have incredible arm muscles.

Fold the whipped cream into your berry mixture until well combined. Pop your mixture into a container of your choosing and let it hang out over night in the freezer. I used a metal loaf pan, which worked well for me. I just covered it with plastic wrap.

Finally, wake up and have ice cream for breakfast because you are too excited to see how it turned out to wait any longer. And besides, it has fruit in it so its basically healthy 😉

Enjoy!

IMG_4943

Leave a Reply

