Fresh squeezed lemonade

image.jpeg

I know, I know. I said in my intro post that I was kind of half assed as a house wife. That is still true! However, I’m a sucker for any request that comes from my husband because he doesn’t request things often. I’m talking hardly ever. So when he asked me if I could make him some lemonade, I really couldn’t refuse. Especially because he volunteered to go get all of the necessary ingredients and took the kids with him. Did I mention how much I adore that man? Another post, another day. We are getting in the lemonade groove.

Slightly of topic, but kind of related is my love of Home Goods. I don’t know if you guys have them wherever you are, but its my ride or die, my favorite store that ever existed. So naturally, when we asked this favor of me I thought how I could squeeze a trip in. So I got a pretty glass pitcher (you know, because the one I had just wasn’t going to work) and a lemon juicer and set to work.

Boil one cup of water and 1 1/3 cup of sugar until sugar dissolves. That amount of sugar works for me and mine, but if you like it real sweet, I would suggest 1 1/2 cups of sugar. I like mine to be still a smidge tart. After it is all dissolved, let it cool and set aside.

Now, onto the hard work. And when I say hard work, I’m really lying, this is so easy. Roll the lemons a bit to release the juices and cut in half. Then pop half of the lemon in the juicer, give it a squeeze and boom. Done. Keep squeezing until you get 1 1/2 cups of lemon juice.

In a large pitcher, and I do mean large, mix together the cooled simple syrup, lemon juice, and 7-8 cups of water, again depending on how strong you like your lemonade. I do roughly 7, and give it all a big stir and put it in the fridge until its nice and chilled.

See? Not hard at all. And trust, you will be thanking me. Nothing tastes as good on a hot summer day as fresh squeezed lemonade. And coming up soon, I will share a few other things I made with this lemonade!

image.jpeg

Ingredients:

1 cup water

1 1/3-1 1/2 cup sugar

1 1/2 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice (8-10 small lemons)

7-8 cups water

Instructions:

-Boil 1 cup water and sugar until sugar has completely dissolved. Set aside to cool.

-Mix remaining water and lemon juice together, stir in cooled simple syrup and stir again. Pop it in the fridge to chill

-Enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

